About Us

  • Adam R. Craig, M.D., Ph.D.

    President and Chief Executive Officer

    Dr. Craig was appointed to serve as one of our directors and as our President and Chief Executive Officer in March 2017. Dr. Craig has worked as an independent consultant providing strategic and operational advice and support to CTI BioPharma and other hematology/oncology biotechnology companies since 2016. Prior to consulting, Dr. Craig was Chief Medical Officer (CMO) and Executive Vice President of Development of Sunesis Pharmaceuticals from 2012 to 2016. From 2008 to 2012, Dr Craig was CMO and Senior Vice President of Chemgenex Pharmaceuticals Ltd, a publicly traded biotechnology company which was acquired by Cephalon/Teva Pharmaceuticals in 2011. Dr. Craig is a Member of the Royal College of Physicians (UK) and undertook Post-Graduate Training in Pediatrics and Pediatric Oncology. Dr. Craig earned his Bachelor’s and Medical degrees from Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School, University of London, and holds a Ph.D. in Molecular Oncology from Leeds University in the U.K. and an MBA from the Open Business School, in the United Kingdom. Dr. Craig recently served as a Product Development Reviewer for the Cancer Prevention Research Institute of Texas.

  • Laurent Fischer, M.D.


    Dr. Fischer has been one of our directors since July 2017 and was appointed Chairman in September 2017. Dr. Fischer was appointed Senior Vice President, Head of the Liver Therapeutic Area at Allergan following the acquisition of Tobira Therapeutics. Dr. Fischer has served as a Senior Advisor on the Frazier Healthcare Partners’ Life Sciences team since March 2017. He was previously chairman and CEO of Jennerex, Inc., a company with a first-in-class oncolytic immunotherapy for Liver Cancer acquired for $150 million by Sillajen. He was co-founder, president and CEO of Ocera Therapeutics and held senior positions at DuPont-Merck, DuPont Pharmaceuticals, and Hoffmann-La Roche in liver disease, virology and oncology. Dr. Fischer received his undergraduate degree from the University of Geneva and his medical degree from the Geneva Medical School, Switzerland.

  • Michael A. Metzger

    Mr. Metzger joined CTI BioPharma’s Board in January 2017. Mr. Metzger is currently president and chief operating officer of Syndax Pharmaceuticals, Inc., a publicly traded immuno-oncology biopharmaceutical company. Mr. Metzger served as president and chief executive officer of Regado Biosciences, Inc., a former publicly traded biotechnology company, from 2013 to 2015, where he oversaw the company’s successful merger with Tobira Therapeutics, Inc. in 2015 and acted as an advisor to Tobira during its subsequent sale to Allergan in 2016. Previously, Mr. Metzger served as executive vice president and chief operating officer at Mersana Therapeutics, a privately held biotechnology company developing novel immunoconjugate therapies for cancer, from 2011 to 2013 and in senior business development positions including leading mergers and acquisitions at Forest Laboratories, Inc. from 2006 to 2011. Mr. Metzger served as vice president corporate development at Onconova Therapeutics, Inc., from 2001 until 2006, and was a managing director at MESA Partners, Inc., a venture capital firm, from 1997 to 2001. Mr. Metzger holds a B.A. from George Washington University and an M.B.A. in Finance from the New York University Stern School of Business.

  • David Parkinson, M.D.

    Dr. Parkinson has been one of our directors since June 2017. Dr. Parkinson has served as President and Chief Executive Officer Essa Pharmaceuticals, Inc. since 2016. Dr. Parkinson has served as a venture partner at New Enterprise Associates (NEA), Inc. since 2012 and in 2016 moved to the role of venture advisor to NEA. From 2007 until 2012, Dr. Parkinson served as President and CEO of Nodality, a biotechnology company focused on the biological characterization of signaling pathways in patients with malignancy to enable more effective therapeutics development and clinical decision-making. Dr. Parkinson has previously led oncology clinical development activities at Novartis (1997-2003), Amgen (2003-2006) and Biogen Idec (2006-2007). He worked at the National Cancer Institute from 1990 to 1997, serving as Chief of the Investigational Drug Branch, and then as Acting Associate Director of the Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program (CTEP). Dr. Parkinson is a past Chairman of the Food & Drug Administration (FDA) Biologics Advisory Committee, has also served on the FDA’s Science Board, and is a recipient of the FDA’s Cody Medal. He has held academic positions both at Tufts and at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, and has authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications.

  • Matthew D. Perry

    Mr. Perry has been one of our directors since January 2016. Mr. Perry is the President of BVF Partners L.P. and portfolio manager for the underlying funds managed by the firm. BVF Partners is a private investment partnership that has focused on small-cap, value oriented investment opportunities for more than 20 years. Mr. Perry joined BVF Partners in December 1996 and has been a successful lead investor in dozens of transactions and has positively influenced corporate direction for numerous biotechnology companies during the course of his career. Mr. Perry is also a co-founder and director of Nordic Biotech Advisors ApS, a venture capital firm based in Copenhagen, Denmark. He holds a B.S. degree from the Biology Department at the College of William and Mary.

  • Reed V. Tuckson, M.D., F.A.C.P.

    Dr. Tuckson joined CTI’s Board in September 2011. Dr. Tuckson serves as the managing director of Tuckson Health Connections, a private consulting company. From December 2006 to March 2014, Dr. Tuckson served as the Executive Vice President and Chief of Medical Affairs of UnitedHealth Group and, from November 2000 to December 2006, he served as Senior Vice President of Clinical Affairs of UnitedHealth Group. Dr. Tuckson also served as Senior Vice President, Professional Standards, for the American Medical Association, President of the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles, Senior Vice President for Programs of the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation and Commissioner of Public Health for the District of Columbia. He currently serves on the board of directors of the Alliance for Health Reform, the American Telemedicine Association, Project Sunshine, the Arnold P. Gold Foundation and the Advisory Committee of the National Institutes of Health for Alternate and Integrative Medicine. Dr. Tuckson received his B.S. in zoology from Howard University and his M.D. from the Georgetown University School of Medicine, and he completed the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania’s General Internal Medicine Residency and Fellowship programs.

You Are Leaving CTI BioPharma

You have selected a link to a third-party website. This link is provided solely as a convenience to you and not as an endorsement by CTI BioPharma of such third-party website. CTI BioPharma is not responsible for and does not make any representations regarding the accuracy of materials on such third-party site.

Continue to the Requested Site
Return to CTI BioPharma

Hello! We are pleased to announce that Cell Therapeutics has changed its name to

Enter Site